RSS

Texas Forever

05 Jun

Clear Eyes. Full Hearts. Can’t Lose. I am in Texas and epically winning.

You may have heard this on twitter but I moved to Texas. This weekend. And while it seemed very spur of the moment, it was not. I was in Austin this weekend for the Austin Television Festival (a full review of which will actually be on offcolortv.com in the next few days, not here on my personal site) and managed to work things out to stay in Texas. Though I’m specifically going to be in Fort Worth, not Austin.

I’ve been wanting to come home to Texas for a while. I was born here and then my parents moved us up to Idaho when I was 7 so while some might say I’m an Idahoan, I’ve always claimed my Texas roots first. I think home is the place you choose, not necessarily the place you grew up. All of my extended family is down in Texas and that’s really important to me. But the things that matter in the South in general (food, family, faith, friends, football) are the exact same things that matter to me. Look places get stereotyped for a reason and a lot of Texas stereotypes are good things. Some are bad but most of the bad ones are even worse in Idaho so this is basically still an improvement.

And then of course there comes the question of wasn’t this a big decision for so spur of the moment? But it isn’t. Not really. I’ve wanted to be back in Texas, and I want to pursue my writing, both in YA books and screenwriting. There are opportunities for both here. And more importantly, there are opportunities for me to learn how to do those things better. Are there cities more equipped to get me my dreams? Yes. But here’s the thing. Part of what I told myself back when I started looking into moving out of Boise was that I needed to pick a place where I could be happy. And as I researched, I realized the place that made me happy wasn’t necessarily the best place to achieve my dreams. For example, Los Angeles is a much smarter move in terms of screenwriting. But I don’t want to live in Los Angeles. I’ll admit that if I did find success in this area, I will probably end up in LA at some point and that’s fine. But if I didn’t, if I never sold a screenplay and had to work in a decent job that wasn’t my dream, I want to do it in a place I love. That’s Texas. I could utterly fail in all of my career goals (though I certainly hope I don’t) and still be happy here. I’d urge any of you thinking about moving to consider that. Failing is a part of life. We can aim for the stars, but we aren’t always going to reach them. So choose to live in a place and in a way that fills you with joy even when life doesn’t go your way.

Enough philosophy. I’m here, I’m happy. I’m also job hunting like a mad woman so if any of you reading this live in the Dallas/Fort Worth/Arlington area and know of someone hiring, please feel free to give me a heads up. And in a few months when I’m settled in an apartment and such, I expect y’all to come visit. Texas Forever.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on June 5, 2012 in Life Moments & Observations

 

Tags: ,

3 responses to “Texas Forever

  1. Wine Stained Life

    June 5, 2012 at 11:21 am

    So happy and excited for you! Congrats on making it happen!!

     
  2. bonniejprestononnie

    June 5, 2012 at 11:48 pm

    Welcome back Melissa. I live in McKinney and work in Plano. What sort of job are you looking for?

     
    • onlymystory

      June 6, 2012 at 5:34 am

      Well on the one hand anything because of course I still have bills to pay. However a preference would be something in administration, such as a receptionist or at a school. I’d love to have a more typical 8-5 job with benefits, etc. But again, I’m pretty flexible right now.

       

Leave a Reply

 
