RSS

Reading List Additions

16 May

So I’ve been on a reading kick lately. Which, while always welcome, is poorly timed since I also need to be catching up on all of my TV shows. But regardless, here’s a few things I think are worthy of recommendation.

Everything Maureen Johnson wrote. EVER. I have now read 3 of her books within a 24 hour period and I can’t get enough. I’m devouring them. I started with The Name of the Star and then continued with Thirteen Little Blue Envelopes and The Last Little Blue Envelope. I’m currently on Suite Scarlett since it was the only left at Barnes & Noble. The Name of the Star is set in England, with Jack the Ripper hysteria in modern times and it is awesome. Mysterious and fantastic. Also the Blue Envelope books are really dangerous because they will make you want to pack up your entire life and move to Europe. I say dangerous because unlike other books that romanticize such endeavors, Ginny (star of these books) has a lot of stressful times and is kind of miserable but that’s sort of the point of a real adventure anyway. But still read them.

If you like the Morganville vampire series by Rachel Caine, you should know that the latest book “Black Dawn” is out. While still very good, I’m having a little difficulty with the draug. I’ll hold off on final judgment until the series is wrapped up but for now I think things might be better if the series ended a couple books ago. If you haven’t read the series, please do give it a try and let me know your thoughts. Those of you who enjoy Thomas Galvin’s “Sire” will probably like the Morganville Vampires series. Speaking of, if you haven’t read “Sire”, do so now.

I read this next one a few weeks ago but it is an absolute must read for everyone. “The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer” is utterly brilliant. You sort of think the book is really great and about one thing and then it becomes even better but totally different. I would spoil it if I talked about it more but suffice to say, read it now.

Lastly, I’ve been rereading several books in the Bordertown lexicon, a world I highly recommend you disappear into.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on May 16, 2012 in Books & Writers

 

One response to “Reading List Additions

  1. loretta

    May 16, 2012 at 11:09 pm

    I have read Sire and loved it, I am currently on book 10 of the Morganville series and I am really enjoying them. I will have to check out the Maureen Johnson books, I have never even heard of them. I tend to really take your suggestions into acct though, because so far anything you have recommended I have loved (like Dance Academy) 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
