RSS

He Leans So Great: The Most Important Debate Ever

08 Dec

Ladies (and perhaps gentlemen), I present to you the single greatest awards poll you will ever participate in. Forget the People’s Choice Awards, Oscars, Grammys, or BAFTA’s. The real battle will determine who leans the best. Allow me to explain. You see in 1994 there was this little show called My So Called Life. It starred Claire Danes as Angela Chase and Jared Leto (who most of you know from 30 Seconds to Mars) as Jordan Catalano. Being the mid-90s, everyone wore plaid flannels, though not so fitted as they are today. It’s a show that everyone should watch for many reasons. MSCL is really the inspiration for most of the teen dramas you see today or at the very least it has heavily influenced them. But I digress. The point is that Jordan Catalano had this ability to lean. As Angela said, “I just like how he’s always leaning. Against stuff. He leans great.” (I’ve given you examples below).

This is a truly excellent example of Jordan leaning. You can't see it but the plaid shirt is nearby.

And he leans again. Setting the standard for the future.

Here Jordan demonstrates how to lean forward, as though no one else matters but you. Very important.

Now, I understand if you are younger and are a little confused. But trust me, for those of us who watched MSCL live (whether age appropriate or not), our reaction to Jordan Catalano tended to be as follows:

Now for a long time, characters have tried to live up to the standards set by Catalano. People have attempted to say that various boys or men have even leaned better than him. “They could not be more wrong. They could try but they would not be successful.” However, in 2011, we have four characters who while perhaps not surpassing Jordan Catalano, lean equally well. Often in plaid, though I’ve given you multiple examples. These lovely people are (by character name):

Raylan Givens (Justified):

Leaning

Plaid. With a jacket and tie at that. Impressive, I know.

David Nolan/Prince Charming (Once Upon a Time):

I know, I know the hand is in the way but you can still see the lean.

Focus on the plaid, not the smile. Priorities, people!

Wade Kinsella (Hart of Dixie):

It is also important that a man can lean while sitting down. It's almost an art form.

Closeup on the plaid

Jack Porter (Revenge):

Plaid again. And no, I could not tell you why plaid is making a comeback.

There is also an art to leaning forward. Catalano could do it.

So now I leave you with your task. Once you’ve regained consciousness, cast your vote for the man who leans best. You have the power here so remember, with great power comes great responsibility.

Or if you insist, you could just ask for this in your letter to Santa…

Merry Christmas Indeed

 
5 Comments

Posted by on December 8, 2011 in Let's Talk TV

 

5 responses to “He Leans So Great: The Most Important Debate Ever

  1. It Ain't Piano Lessons Honey

    December 8, 2011 at 3:16 pm

    Bahaha… this is f*ckin’ fantastic! All these boys have the lean down pat, but I’ll go with Raylan. Timmy O is my man, and he’s had the art of the lean down for years. You’re actually making me want to do a post on Timmy’s lean through the years, but I won’t 😀

    Anywho, my favorite Timmy O lean was from Go when he leaned over Katie Holmes on the stairs when they were about to have sex. One of the HOTTEST SCENES EVER!! *sighs*

     
  2. Cin Salvatore

    December 8, 2011 at 3:17 pm

    Tim Riggins. I mean, are we really HAVING this conversation?

    http://tinyurl.com/ca7bao6

     
  3. melissa miller (@Serrae)

    December 8, 2011 at 3:25 pm

    This article was amazing. I love it. But I agree with Cin – Tim Riggins should be on the list. Leaning + plaid! And pretty hair.

     
  4. Hollye

    December 8, 2011 at 4:31 pm

    Riggins all the way!

     

Leave a Reply

 
